National Tax Association

Annual Competition for Outstanding Doctoral Dissertations in Government Finance and Taxation


All graduate students at accredited U.S. and Canadian Institutions and individuals who will receive the doctoral degree or its equivalent after July 1, 2015, and before June 30, 2016, are eligible for the awards. The deadline for submission is June 30, 2016.

Dissertations (theoretical and applied) may be on any topic in the area of government finance, including taxation, debt and fiscal policy, public choice, expenditures, budgeting, administrative and management science applications, program analysis, and policy evaluation.

Entries will be judged by a panel of experts on the basis of originality, clarity of exposition, and significance of the analysis for scholars and practitioners of government finance.

The winner receives $2,000 and the opportunity to adapt the manuscript for publication in the National Tax Journal. Two honorable mention awards of $1,000 each may be given for other outstanding entries. The winners will be announced in September 2015.

The awards will be presented at the 109th Annual Conference on Taxation in Baltimore, Maryland, November 10-12, 2016. Papers based on the dissertations are delivered at a special session - Frontiers of Public Finance - and are published in the Conference Proceedings.

All submissions must be accompanied by an entry application, nomination form, and formal letter of nomination from the chair of the doctoral dissertation committee certifying the date of its acceptance and the specific qualities that warrant its nomination. These are available from the National Tax Association web site at, or contact NTA at [email protected] or 202-737-3325.

All correspondence regarding the awards, including entry and nomination forms, letters of nomination, and dissertations should be addressed to:

National Tax Association

725 15th Street NW Suite 600

Washington DC 20005-2109


For further information, contact the National Tax Association at 202-737-3325 or [email protected]


NTA Dissertation Awards Recipients

2015 Itzik Fadlon Harvard University
2014 Benjamin Marx Columbia University
2013 Tatiana Homonoff Princeton University
2012  Joshua Gottlieb  Harvard University
2011 Marika Cabral Stanford University
2010 Nirupama Rao Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2009  Jesse Edgerton  Massachusetts Institute of Technology 
2008 James Sallee University of Michigan


David Albouy University of California Berkeley
2006 Arturo Ramirez Verdugo Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2005 Monica Singhal Harvard University
2004 Joshua D. Rauh (Co-winner) Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2004 Fernando V. Ferreira (Co-winner) University of California Berkeley
2003 Nadarajan Chetty Harvard University
2002 Kevin S. Milligan University of Toronto
2001 Brian G. Knight University of Wisconsin
2000 Robert McMillan Stanford University
1999 Emmanuel Saez Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1998 Dhammika Dharmapala University of California Berkeley
1997 George R. G. Clark University of Rochester
1996 Sheila E. Murray (Co-winner) University of Maryland
1996 Leora Friedberg (Co-winner) Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1995 Nada Eissa Harvard University
1994 Caroline Minter Hoxby Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1993 Hilary A. Sigman Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1992 Eric M. Engen University of Virginia
1991 William M. Gentry Princeton University
1990 W. Thomas Bogart Princeton University
1989 Brian A. Cromwell Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1988 Rosanne Altshuler University of Pennsylvania
1987 Serge Nadeau Carnegie Mellon University
1986 Andrew B. Lyon (Co-winner) Princeton University
1986 Jeffrey K. MacKie-Mason(Co-winner) Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1985 Lawrence B. Lindsey Harvard University
1984 Mitchell A. Post University of Wisconsin
1983 David F. Merriman University of Wisconsin
1982 Robert S. Chirinko (Co-winner) Northwestern University
1982 Lawrence H. Summers (Co-winner) Harvard University
1981 Jane G. Gravelle George Washington University
1980 George R. Zodrow Princeton University
1979 Don Fullerton University of California, Berkeley
1978 Charles F. Revier Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1977 Richard F. Dye University of Michigan
1976 Patrick D. Larkey University of Michigan
1975 John B. Burbidge McGill University
1974 Helen F. Ladd Harvard University
1973 John H. Bowman Ohio State University
1972 Daniel L. Rubinfeld Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1971 Michael J. Boskin University of California, Berkeley