National Tax Association

Annual Competition for Outstanding Doctoral Dissertations in Government Finance and Taxation


All graduate students at accredited U.S. and Canadian Institutions and individuals who will receive the doctoral degree or its equivalent after July 1, 2015, and before June 30, 2016, are eligible for the awards. The deadline for submission is June 30, 2016.

Daniel M. Holland Medal

The National Tax Association presents the Daniel M. Holland Medal for outstanding contributions to the study and practice of public finance. The award was begun in 1993.  The recipient is chosen by a committee of NTA members selected by the Board of Directors, and the medal is awarded at the Annual Meeting of the Members, held in conjunction with the Annual Conference on Taxation.

Davie/Davis Public Service Award

The Davie/Davis Public Service Award, established in 2005, is in memory of NTA members Bruce F. Davie and Albert J. Davis. The award honors NTA members who served the public through the provision of expert analyses and objective advice on issues of taxation and government finance to elected officials, other policy makers, and the general public.

Richard Musgrave Prize

The National Tax Association Announces the creation of the Richard Musgrave Prize, to be presented each year to the author or authors of the outstanding paper published in the National Tax Journal. During his luminous career, the work of Richard Musgrave has been characterized by a powerful blend of analytic clarity, insight drawn from the historical record across the globe, and respect for the importance of administration. With this award, the National Tax Association wished to recognize his contributions to the public policy theory, research and practice.

Steven D. Gold Award

The Steven D. Gold Award is given annually by National Tax Association, the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM), and the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL). The award is presented by one of the organizations each year. NTA presented the first Gold Award in 1997.